What You Should Know About Virginia’s Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee
Virginia is one of two states that doesn’t require valid auto insurance to drive a vehicle on its roads. However, drivers who choose to not carry auto insurance must pay a fee of $500 at the time that they register their vehicles with the state. This fee is called the Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee, and while it allows them to legally drive their uninsured vehicles, it doesn’t substitute for auto insurance.
Should uninsured drivers be involved in a crash where they’re ruled at fault, they can be personally liable for any injuries and damages they cause. But as many injured victims quickly find out, the people who injure them have no way of actually paying them the amount of money they need for their medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other expenses.
That’s why it’s extremely important to carry uninsured motorist coverage that exceeds the minimum, which is $25,000 per person in a crash. Although this seems like a lot of money, it can quickly cap out after a crash. Even a single ambulance ride to the hospital can cost thousands of dollars, and when you factor in multiple missed paychecks, X-rays, overnight stays in the hospital, and specialist visits, $25,000 can disappear in a flash, leaving you on the hook for the rest of your medical bills.
Given the fact that Virginia allows drivers to get away without paying for auto insurance, you should protect yourself as best you can by purchasing as much uninsured driver coverage as you can. This can give you peace of mind, especially when you contact an experienced Roanoke auto accident lawyer after a crash. Skolrood Law Firm is here to help you get the money you’re owed after an accident, so don’t hesitate to contact us.